TCS - What's happening

Congrats to Gaelic star

Congratulations to Rachel Callery in 2nd year on winning a Leinster Medal with the Dublin u14 Gaelic Football team last weekend.


Trinity Awards 2018

TCS TA awards 2018

TCS Students Receive TAP Educational Achievement Awards

Six Tallaght Community School students received Educational Achievement Awards organised by the Trinity Access Programme in a ceremony held in Trinity College on Wednesday, 2nd of May. These awards are in recognition of their academic excellence and hard work in school and are given to Junior Cycle and Transition Year students (13 - 16 year olds) in schools linked to the Trinity Access Programmes (TAP).

Jack Keatinge 5B and Katie O’ Neill 5C received their awards for demonstrating the spirit of mentoring to their fellow students and classmates. Sinead Burke 2Cedar, Dean Gooding 2Cedar and Patrucja Palka 1Cedar achieved the awards for their academic diligence

In addition to the TAP Educational Achievement Awards one Tallaght Community School student was selected as a recipient of the Salters Sterling Gold Medal Award.  Salters Sterling, a former staff member of TCD and a founding member of the Trinity Access Programmes, was a visionary who was committed to opening up Trinity College to a more diverse student body.

Megan Kelly TY6 received this year’s Salter Sterling Gold medal award for the spirit of Transition Year. Megan was selected for the Salters Sterling Gold Medal Award as she has shown a great sense of civic-mindedness and purposefulness in class, her school and community, standing out as a leader of tomorrow. Congratulations to all.

Wrigley Litter Less Win


'Wrigley Litter Less' Win for TCS student

Second year student Jake Bushe received 3rd prize in the Wrigley Litter Less Campaign at a ceremony held on the 25th of April. The Litter Less Campaign, a joint initiative of the Wrigley Company Foundation and the Foundation for Environmental Education aims to engage and educate children and young people on the issue of litter and encourage them to make positive choices. Jake entered the Wrigley Litter Less Competition with an article he wrote on litter in his area. He interviewed local business people to get their opinions on litter problems and solutions in the area.
Congratulations to Jake on his achievement.

Commendation Awards

2nd Year Commendation Awards
Well done to the latest recipients of the Commendation Awards in second year - Ben Whelan, Eoin Scanlon, Bethany Osemede, and Dean Gooding. These awards present a great opportunity to acknowledge the wonderful efforts that our students make in TCS.


TCS host HTA Junior Quiz

The History Teachers' Association's Junior quiz was held in TCS on Monday 1st of May. TCS was represented by a very strong team with Josh Pope, Abbey Keeley, Adam Mc Dowell, and Jack O' Meara answering the questions. Congratulations to the winning team, Sandford Park.


First Years Boys in Leinster Final 2018

TCS First Year Boys Soccer

Boys First Year Soccer Team Qualifies for Leinster Champions League Final

After winning the South Dublin Metropolitan League in February, the first year team qualified for the Leinster Champions League Quarter-Final and were drawn at home against Colaiste Choilm from Tullamore. In a very even and tightly contested game, it finished 0-0 after full time so an extra 20 minutes was needed to separate the teams. With four minutes left and the lottery of penalties looking like a major possibility, Cian Barrett scored an excellent free kick to send the lads through to the semi-final 1-0 after extra time.

In the semi-final TCS faced a very strong team from Gorey CS and the match was played at a neutral venue in Wicklow. TCS started very strongly and were ahead after 2 minutes thanks to an expertly taken goal by Aaron Hanlon, and were 2-0 up at half time after John Paul Olanipekun sprinted clear of the defence and coolly slotted past the keeper. In the second half, the lads from TCS continued to dominate the game and went 5-0 up after goals from Eyman Bouderbala, Aji Habeeb and John Paul Olanipekun again. The match eventually finished 5-1 to Tallaght Community School.

The first year team have now qualified for the Leinster Champions League Final where they will face Naas CBS after they won the Midlands League and beat St. Kieran's College, Kilkenny and Ashbourne Community School on their way to the final. The final will be played on Thursday the 10th of May in Leixlip and everybody at Tallaght Community School wish the lads the very best of luck.

Team: Aaron Kelly, Cian Dowling, Justin Obasuyi, Adam Lawlor, Shane O' Neill, Keane Douglas, Aaron Hanlon, Cian Barrett (captain), John Paul Olanipekun, Eyman Bouderbala, Aji Habeeb, Kevin O' Neill, Calum McCabe, Scott O' Connor, Alex Kane, Sleman Razi, Joseph Keith and Alex Douglas.
Management: Damien Keane, Mark Whyte and Jimmy Wynne



Notice to Parents/Guardians 27 April 2018

The school will be closed on Friday 27 April for facilitate staff training at the direction of the Dept of Education and Skills in the area of Child Protection Procedures.

Please note that study will be arranged for Leaving Cert students from 9.00 am to 12.00 pm.