Sports & Leisure

U14 Soccer Cup

U14 Soccer Cup Match

Tallaght CS 2 vs Oatlands College 3

The under 14 soccer squad suffered their first defeat in perhaps the most important game, on Thursday 4th November in Stillorgan.

Having started poorly for the first 10 minutes, Tallaght then took over and played some excellent football which culminated in Killian Kinsella forcing an own goal from the opposition with 20 minutes gone in the opening half. Minutes later the lead was doubled by Kinsella when he coolly slotted a rebound shot under the advancing keeper for 2-0, following some excellent work in the middle of the field by a combination of Aaron Robinson and Adam ‘Bucko’ Buckley.

Perhaps the turning point in the game arrived on the stroke of halftime when TCS had a chance at one end but the Stillorgan boys managed a quick counter and scored with a good finish to the net. Having looked comfortable up to this point Tallaght were now coming under pressure.

Oatlands were not content with one goal and doubled their tally midway through the second half following a defensive blunder by TCS in failing to deal with what looked like an innocuous free kick. However such is sport and TCS refused to roll over.

The final few minutes were played out to the end with every ball fought for and every decision challenged on both sides, but neither side could get a winner. Hence the game entered extra time.

Midway through the first period Oatlands took the lead for the first time in the game and this was to be the winner. They managed to play out the remainder of the game by withdrawing and defending with excellence and the TCS boys were just unable to break them down on the heavy sod.

This was a disappointing exit to the Cup; however it will prove an invaluable lesson to all TCS students and teachers involved.

With a bit of luck, TCS can go on and maybe finish out the league on a high.



Dylan Kelly, Craig Fallon, Leon Stankard, Aaron O Donoghue, Epey Mutanga, Aaron Robinson, Ryan Burns (Shane McCabe), Adam Buckley (Bryan Kinsella), Adam O Dwyer, Conor Murray, Killian Kinsella