Sports & Leisure

TCS U-14 team through to League Finals

Under 14 Soccer

Tallaght Community School under 14 soccer squad are through to the League Finals having defeated St Benildus College on Wednesday(19 Jan 11) on a score of 4 goals to 1. 


Tallaght CS started brightly and were a good bet for their early lead when Adam O Dwyer coolly slotted home under the advancing keeper after 12 minutes. They managed to double their lead when the same player unleashed a fine drive into the roof of the net. 

The Tallaght defensive unit was well marshalled by Daragh Monks and Epey Mutanga with Fallon and Stankard completing the solid unit which dealt comfortably with the opposition throughout the first half. 

The away team started the second half in a transformed fashion and reduced the deficit to the single goal following a good low cross which seen the TCS rearguard flat footed, and minutes later a wonder save by Dylan Kelly ensured TCS remained in the lead. At this stage the game was becoming fast and free flowing on the excellent Sacred Heart pitch.

Some good displays across the field and in particular Adam Buckley and Aaron Robinson who combined to put through Conor Murray and as the keeper came out to meet him he lifted the ball ‘Messiesque’ like into the roof of the net to send Tallaght 3 – 1 up after 20 minutes of the second half. Tallaght resumed control from here on and a fine strike by Aaron Robinson on the half hour mark seen the home side advance to the final of the league competition. 

This was a great team performance from 1 through to the sub that was used. Dylan Kelly in goals was superb in the second half and was well aided by a ruthless defence led by the aforementioned four who received excellent covering support from Ryan Burns and the diminutive but tigerish Bryan Kinsella.

The two front men combined well on numerous occasions and had the Dundrum side in trouble throughout. Shane McCabe who replaced the injured Bryan Kinsella was also involved in lots of good moves in the last 15 minutes. 

Team: D Kelly, C Fallon, L Stankard, D Monks, E Mutanga, A Robinson, R Burns, A O Dwyer, C Murray, A Buckley and B KinsellaSubs: Shane McCabe, E Fagan and Fawaz Sulaimon

Mentors: Mr G Kenna and Mr R Kearney

‘’We are what we repeatedly do. Excellence then is not an act, but a habit’’